Posted in Unemployment, Women @ home

How long should one wait?

You must make a decision that you are going to move on. It wont happen automatically. You will have to rise up and say, ‘I don’t care how hard this is, I don’t care how disappointed I am, I’m not going to let this get the best of me. I’m moving on with my life. ― Joel Osteen

move on

How long do you wait before you say, this is not working, time to do something different?

There isn’t a hard and fast rule but from my ethnographic studies, I found that those who change career strategies within 3 months of unemployment suffer less emotionally and continue to find the motivation and confidence to make something of the time that has been given to them.

I continue to see an increasing number of people who have unfortunately been unemployed for 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years after a full-time job or following a sabbatical or family leave without making progress. It comes down to one thing,

Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. – Albert Einstein

Using the same resume, applying for the same jobs, seeking the same packages … yes, one may get lucky and find something eventually but when would that be? At what cost?

While one seeks a job using the same skills, education and experiences they have had, others are building new ones and both the economic and job markets  continuously change.

The best thing one can do is to monitor and assess trends in the domain of interest and decide on what their place would ideally be in the grand scheme of things.

One might find that their skills and experiences could be presented differently, or an opportunity may be available in a place that one least expected, or one might decide to switch focus and start a new track in their career.

Whatever it is one does, progress must be made … for this time given, is time not to be wasted, but time to grow.

 

 

 

Image courtesy of suphakit73 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

