Posted in Leadership

Influence

inflI spoke about integrity in an earlier post and about fears that prevents one from fulfilling integrity in practice and I recommended that one must find the ways to manage these fears through influence, one of which is understanding people’s and the organizational leaders’ temperaments.

I heard an interesting talk the other day about the nature of people and how people are at least two of four temperaments; Sanguine, Choleric, Melancholic, and Phlegmatic.

This one appealed to me as I understood it to be the root of most modern frameworks and one which the Myers-Briggs is based on. This one also appealed to me because it doesn’t generalize individuals in various extremes and it recognizes that no one temperament is better than another with respective strengths and its weaknesses.

Understanding your own and others’ temperaments can make communication, especially during tough times where integrity is key, much easier and non-personal. I am not suggesting that you change your own temperament, but be aware of others’, for example, moving a Sanguine through sentiment will not work.

There is an abundance of information publicly available and books available on these temperaments and I will share some general information on each of these temperaments in the next post.

 

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

