Posted in Leadership

Be the wave

Wave

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect. ~Mark Twain

As we go through a rough patch in our careers, we try to find ways to gain the certifications, attend the training, talk the current talk, walk the current walk, just to try to be distinctive and be the best that we can be. The irony however, is that to be distinctive and to be the best we can be is not about doing what others have or are doing, but it is to do something different.

Don’t think you’re on the right road just because it’s a well-beaten path. ~Author Unknown

I heard once, on an Earl Nightingale recording, that in order to truly be successful, one must be an expert in their field. It oddly struck me as I wondered, how could we, wherever we are in our careers, be experts?

The key is not necessarily to be THE expert, but it is to be AN expert by connecting with others and reading the latest and oldest in our field, from online magazines, blogs, books, newspaper articles, to anything that is related to or even similar to our field.

From experience, I have seen the impact this has had both in my career and in my personal life. My field became part of who I am as I observe, think, reflect and analyze everything around me against this vast body of knowledge that I now had at my fingertips opening unknown doors of creativity.

Be an expert, setup your google alerts, buy, borrow or trade books, connect with groups in your field, then swooosshhhh … soon you will not only be on the wave, you will be ahead of it.

Image courtesy of ciminalatt at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

